Why?

Nana Dadzie Ghansah
7 min readNov 2, 2020

By Nana Dadzie Ghansah

“GAUNT: What is six winters? They are quickly gone.

BOLINGBROKE: To men in joy; but grief makes one hour ten.”

- from “The Tragedy of Richard II, Act I, Scene III”

The man who stood across from me knew the bitter truth, or at least he sensed it. The look of sadness on his face hinted at it. The glistening of tears in his eyes could not hide it.

“We have been married for 58 years. She takes care of me. She is my best friend…”

His voice trailed off, and the tears started falling down his lined face. Pandemic be damned! — I hugged that man. We both needed it.He needed it because he was watching his wife of 58 years die, and the sorrow that emanated from him demanded a hug. I needed to give him that hug because that moment of hopelessness required some humanity and compassion.

I walked away, just saddened by what I had just witnessed. The pure unadulterated sorrow brought on by the impending loss of a loved one. How in the name of all that is holy has humanity been able to deal with such pain through the ages? How does one deal with losing someone who has been your life partner and best friend for 58 years so suddenly? How?

As I grappled with the question, I thought of acquaintances who had lost kids and spouses. I thought of my mother…

--

--

Nana Dadzie Ghansah

An anesthesiologist, photographer, writer, and poet. He lives and works in Lexington, Kentucky.